01508 571 385

Looking Back At over 40 Years Of What Car? Car Of The Year Winners

Author: UKNC

The 2018 What Car? Awards is back next week (23rd January 2018), marking its 40th anniversary since the first awards ceremony back in 1978. From the very first winner, the Renault 20 TS (1978) through to last years winner, the BMW 520d SE 4dr, there have been some iconic cars taking home the prestigious car of the year award. The full list of winners can be found over on the What Car? website and it features some absolute classics that have no doubt been part of your personal driving history. We've been discussing the merits of all of the cars here in the UK New Cars office and as a result have featured a small selection of our favourite vehicles from the previous winners.

VW Golf - 1981

Peugeot 205 GR - 1984

Ford Fiesta 1.1LX - 1989

Peugeot 306 1.6LX - 1994

Ford Mondeo 1.8LX - 2001

Land Rover Discovery TDV6 S - 2005

We will be attending this years What Car? Awards ceremony on Tuesday 23rd January 2018. Join us on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook using #whatcarawards.

  • Keywords:
01508 571 385

Don't hesitate to contact our team should you have a query.

Vehicle Procurement Solutions Ltd, T/A UKnewcars do not accept responsibility for any inaccuracies or errors in the information displayed with this website.

UK New Cars is a trading name of Vehicle Procurement Solutions Ltd, which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority for credit broking activities with firm reference number: FRN622159. 

© UK New Cars. Copyright 2023. Pictures are for illustration purposes only and will not represent the car you have chosen. Quotations are subject to any alterations in government taxes, manufacturer price increases, dealer discount margins, manufacturer registration campaigns and any changes to be agreed by both parties prior to an order being placed.     Terms and Conditions      Testimonials     Treating Customers Fairly     Back to the top